Frank X. Walker
Black Box: Poems
January1 18, 2019 Comments.. 760
Black Box Poems A powerful new collection from Frank X Walker winner of the Lannan Literary Fellowship for Poetry Featuring poems on family place identity and social justice Black Box continues the brill

  • Title: Black Box: Poems
  • Author: Frank X. Walker
  • ISBN: 9780967542416
  • Page: 433
  • Format: Paperback
  • A powerful new collection from Frank X Walker, winner of the 2005 Lannan Literary Fellowship for Poetry Featuring 68 poems on family, place, identity, and social justice, Black Box continues the brilliant autobiographical journey of Affrilachia, the author s groundbreaking first volume of poems The work of Frank X Walker is an eclectic, powerful mixture of liberating styA powerful new collection from Frank X Walker, winner of the 2005 Lannan Literary Fellowship for Poetry Featuring 68 poems on family, place, identity, and social justice, Black Box continues the brilliant autobiographical journey of Affrilachia, the author s groundbreaking first volume of poems The work of Frank X Walker is an eclectic, powerful mixture of liberating style, profound insight, and unwavering organic connection to the intellectual, political, and cultural struggles of a people He stands in the tradition of DuBois, McKay, Robeson and Hughes Ricky L Jones, Black Haze.The spirit of a child runs through the poetry of Frank X Walker s latest collection, Black Box A young, rural black boy recalls his parents, grandparents and ancestors who originally settled the land, built the rock walls and dug in the coal mines close to the bone poetry a poet for all generations Mary Popham, Louisville Courier Journal

    • Free Read [Spirituality Book] ó Black Box: Poems - by Frank X. Walker Ì
      433 Frank X. Walker
    • thumbnail Title: Free Read [Spirituality Book] ó Black Box: Poems - by Frank X. Walker Ì
      Posted by:Frank X. Walker
      Published :2019-011-18T17:29:08+00:00

    1 Blog on “Black Box: Poems

    1. Kevin Stepp says:

      If for no other reason (but there are plenty), his response to Gwendolyn Brooks' "We So Cool" is alone worth the purchase price. "We So Crunk" completely honors Ms. Brooks' landmark while getting in the face of the latest generation who think that they are ten feet tall and bulletproof.Frank's voice is genuine, honest, and direct; it must be heard.

    2. Kathleen says:

      It's been more than a little while since I've read any poetry. While I'm looking to change that this year, I didn't rush into it--running to the library and loading myself down with ten or more volumes. I decided to start with what I already owned; the odd unlooked-for volumes of verse that had wandered into my life in spite of my more technical pursuits. Frank X. Walker's Black Box was one of these.This volume was a gift from my father. I remember how enthusiastic he was on the phone, telling m [...]

    3. T.L. Cooper says:

      Black Box Poems by Frank X. Walker transported me to a place I both recognized and didn't recognize while expanding my understanding of the human condition. Family dynamics combined with life experience create a glimpse into country life and city life as well as juxtaposition of the simplicity of living complex lives and the complexity of living simple lives. Walker writes with a clarity that uses symbolism and bluntness in perfect harmony to drive home a point or to provoke thought. I'm always [...]

    4. Sarah Key says:

      If you ever get the chance to hear Frank X Walker speak, I highly encourage it.

    5. Joseph Quinton says:

      This is one of the best books of poetry that I have ever read.

    6. Glenis Redmond says:

      The male counter-point to my poetry.

    7. Bethany says:

      Four and a half stars.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *